27
Mar
08

Home Improvement

With the long overdue arrival of Ikea in Northern Ireland, I have decided to take the plunge and replace my Kitchen. (Well, the one currently in place has been there since my parents built this house and it is neither asethetically pleasing or functional). Adam and I went to the store on Tuesday to have a look, since the website doesn’t really give you any idea of what the various styles will look like in situ.

I have decided on the Fagerland kitchen, which has a strange tutonic ring to it…Ve hav vays of making you cook etc. :), though, at present anyway, I have no plans for starting up a home based destistry/torture business. I had planned on taking myself off to the caribbean fo a two week holiday this year, however, on reflection, the money will be much better spent this way. The only downside is that Colin will not be back from Australia in time to take part in the demolition of the old ruin, which is a shame, as I know he was particularly looking forward to it. (My dearest friends and I delight in the gentle art of smashng things to bits with sledgehammers). However, this way, when he does come home later in the year, at least I will be equipped to entertain in style 🙂

I will actually be knocking my current Kitchen and Dining Room into one, with the plan that I will effectively “live” in this room and my main sitting room will be what is known in Norn Iron parlance as my “good” room. Well, thats the plan anyway. Time will tell as to what actually happens. Why not go along to www.ikea.com have a gander and let me know what you think.

Today I am going to go out and get myself a wee sketchbook to start scrapbooking ideas for decor for the new room, although it is likely that I will try to co-ordinate it with the scheme I have in my sitting room (which is dark red and cream). I also need to source wall and floor tiles, and soft furnishings, in addition to a flat panel TV ………… 🙂 🙂 🙂

Project updates as they happen  

3 Responses to “Home Improvement”


  1. 1 Leslie
    March 27, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Ah, yes – Ikea. I know it well!!

    It’s where my candle fetish started and now I find myself magnetically drawn to that temple of homewares and domestic blissery! One thing the Belfast store does better than Glasgow is its restaurant with fantastic views over BHS airport’s runway. Nothing like a plate of Swedish meatballs whilst watching the BMI jets come and go 🙂

    Have you tried out Ikea’s kitchen designing tool? You build your virtual kitchen on your PC in 3D, jiggle it all round to fit your space and then when you’re finished it prints out all the bits you need in a nice shopping list!!

    “Glad kök byggningen!!” as they say in Ikealand…..

  2. March 27, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Love the Fagerland stuff! I’m glad you clarified–I thought maybe you’d taken up a career as a dominatrix. Flat panel tv….cool.

  3. March 27, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    We didn’t try the resturant – mainly because being the holidays, the place was packed. However, I did download the kitchen planner thing which is very cool – mind you, I dont really trust my measurements so I reckon I will need to have a competent person look over them all before I actually buy anything.


Leave a Reply

